Cubs Win the 2016 World Series

Chicago Cubs  8 – 7 (F/10)  Cleveland Indians

It only took 108 years, but the Cubs are back on top as champions of Major League Baseball. Powered by a trio of solo home runs, aggressive base-running and clutch hitting, Chicago outlasted the Indians to take home their first World Series title since 1908.

Chicago Cubs 2016 World Series Champions

Dexter Fowler got the Cubs on the board early, with a leadoff home run in the first, but Cleveland would answer back with an RBI single by Carlos Santana in the third.  Chicago wasted no time in retaking the lead, scoring two in the fourth thanks to a sacrifice fly by Addison Russell and an RBI double by Willson Contreras.

Back and forth they went, as Cleveland found themselves down by three with two innings to go. But the Indians were able to get to Aroldis Chapman in the eighth, scoring three, capped off by a Rajai Davis two run homer.

With the game tied in the tenth, Kyle Schwarber led off with a single to right. Albert Almora Jr. came in to pinch run and the move immediately paid off, as he took second on a deep fly. After an intentional walk to Rizzo, Zobrist came through in the clutch with an RBI double. After another intentional walk to Russell, Miguel Montero scored the difference making run with a single to left. Cleveland would answer with one in the tenth, but ultimately left the game tying run on base.